Regarded as one of England’s most impressive Georgian town houses, Fairfax House dates back to 1762 and takes its name from Charles Gregory, the 9th Viscount Fairfax of Emley, who acquired the property in 1759. After a short-lived incarnation as a gentlemen’s club and cinema, Fairfax House was bought and renovated by the York Civic Trust, reopening in 1984 as a house museum, showcasing a fine collection of period furnishings and antiques.
Today, the museum displays the Noel Terry Collection of Georgian furniture, but it’s the painstakingly restored interiors that earn the most acclaim. Designed by Yorkshire architect John Carr, the house is a masterpiece of Georgian style, adorned with elaborate wrought ironwork, intricate woodcarvings and striking stucco ceilings. Highlights include the exquisite Great Staircase, the grand Venetian Window, furnishings including one of the houses’ original four-poster beds and a selection of 18th Century paintings.